Posts Tagged ‘Sousatzka’

‘Sousatzka’ Scheduled to Open in Toronto in Pre-Broadway Run

September 29th, 2016 Comments off


Teatro Proscenium Limited Partnership (Richard Stursberg, CEO) have announced the world premiere of the Garth Drabinsky production of Sousatzka, the new musical by three-time Tony Award-nominated book writer Craig Lucas and the legendary composing team of Tony Award winner Richard Maltby, Jr. (Lyrics) and Academy Award winner David Shire (Music).

Choreographed by ten-time Tony Award nominee Graciela Daniele and directed by Adrian Noble, Sousatzka will begin performances on February 25, 2017 at Toronto’s historic Elgin Theatre (189 Yonge Street), and officially open on Thursday, March 23. Tickets will go on sale, via Ticketmaster, on October 17. Sousatzka’s pre-Broadway strictly limited engagement is scheduled to run through April 9, 2017.

Tony Award winner Victoria Clark.

Tony Award winner Victoria Clark.

Sousatzka stars Tony Award winner Victoria Clark, Tony Award nominee Montego Glover, Tony Award winner Judy Kaye, and features the Broadway debut of Jordan Barrow.

“To be able to present this remarkable creative team, and cast, and the musical work of one of the best creative producers of our age, is a gift,” Mr. Stursberg said in a statement.  “My association with Garth has proven itself to be one of the most satisfying and enduring creative relationships I’ve ever had, and I look forward to ensuring that he has every resource available to get this inspired show to Broadway, and beyond.”

Based on the original novel Madame Sousatzka by Bernice Rubens, Sousatzka, set in London, England in 1982, tells the story of a young musical prodigy torn between two powerful women from vastly different worlds: his mother, a political refugee and his piano teacher, a brilliant eccentric with a shattered past. These two proud, iconoclastic women must ultimately cross cultural and racial divides to find common ground, or else put the boy’s destiny in jeopardy.

Sousatzka’s creative and design dream team includes Tony Award winner Anthony Ward (Scenic Design), Tony Award winner Paul Tazwell (Costume Design), two-time Tony Award winner Howell Binkley (Lighting Design), Jonathan Driscoll (Projection Design), Grammy Award winner Martin Levan (Sound Design), Tony Award winner Jonathan Tunick (Orchestrations), David Caddick (Music Supervision), Brad Haak (Music Director), Lebo M. (Additional Music and Vocal Arrangements), and Marius de Vries (Additional Music Arrangements).